Welcome to Newslanka.Net
Sri Lankan news from the UK & Europe & news from Sri Lanka
Search our site, type in a name of an OBA, Association or a friend




April 16, 2018

Team 2018 for 30th Festival of Cricket
The hugely successful Festival of Cricket is back for its 30 th milestone, bigger and better and full of pleasant surprises in 2018.

Year after year, Festival of Cricket is a sell-out success story. After outstanding 29 years, the countdown has begun until the Festival of Cricket returns to the Hainault Recreation Ground, Essex this summer for the 30 th consecutive year!

With just over 120 days to go, the organisers of this prestigious charity event are busy carrying out important groundworks, organising the cricket tournament and developing the itinerary for the day; before they welcome, enthusiastic cricket supporters through the gates on the 08 th July 2018.

Promising to expand on the success of previous years, the FoC 2018 will showcase the true sportsmanship in cricket and a vibrant festival atmosphere to provide a backdrop for a unique and a highly memorable day. Be amazed by witnessing the 32 Old Boy's Associations of Sri Lankan Schools line-up yet again to take on the 2017 Champions 'Maris Stella College OBA' and be there to enjoy a variety of offerings of mouth-watering Sri Lankan food and best Sri Lankan entertainment here in the United Kingdom.

The date is set for Sunday 08 th July 2018 and the Festival is to be held at the Hainault Recreation Grounds, Forest Road, Fairlop, Essex IG6 3HX. This is only 15 minutes by foot from the Fairlop Tube Station (Central Line).

This relaxed game of cricket and a fun day would be impossible without the sheer dedication, commitment and sacrifice of the 64-member team, from 32 prominent Sri Lankan School OBAs in the UK. Due to the huge milestone this year, the main responsibility of the Executive Officials was to select a dedicated team of Sub-Committee Chairmen. Here's the team for 2018.

FOC Executive Officials:
Hon. President - Mr. Siano Perera of De Mazenod College OBA
Hon. Secretary - Mr. Jay Edirappuli of Ananda College OBA
Hon. Treasurer - Mr. Konesh Govindarajah, Methodist Central College OBA

Supported by:
Vice President - Mr. Wasantha Perera of St. Joseph Vas College OBA
Assistant Secretary - Krishan Bulathsinhala of Nalanda College OBA
Assistant Treasurer - Mr. Rex Fernando of St. Aloysius' College OBA

FOC Sub-Committee Chairmen:
Cricket - Mr. Kasun Waduge of Thurstan College OBA
Charity - Dr. Shaukat Mamujee of St. Joseph's College OBA
Ground Services - Mr. Kapila Mallikarachchige of Mahanama College OBA
Media - Mr. Praneeth Hettiarachchi of St. Aloysius' College OBA
Stewarding - Mr. Nipuna Weerakoon of Maliyadeva College OBA
Security - Mr. Chinthaka Wickramasinghe of Kingswood College OBA
Souvenir - Mr. Asanka Nanayakkara of Richmond College OBA
Business & Trade - Mr. Suminda Ekanayake of St. Thomas's College OBA Matale
Hospitality - Mr. Vijitha Gamage of Isipathana College OBA
Marketing - Mr. Kivan Fernando of Maris Stella College OBA

Legal Advisor - Mr. Harshaka Kannangara of Ananda College OBA
Event Compliance Advisor - Mr. Methsiri Wijeratna of Nalanda College OBA
Event Operations Advisor - Mr. Upul Ekanayake of Dharmaraja College OBA
Treasury Advisor - Mr. Wickrama De S Waidyanatha of Richmond College OBA

The inspiring vision of the FOC is to establish goodwill and harmonious relationship among all communities representing the Sri Lankan Diaspora and among all participating OBA's in the United Kingdom through Cricket. That vision is pertinent today when Cricket plays a highly significant role in the national reconciliation process in Sri Lanka and our Festival of Cricket is an inspiring contribution towards that process.

Praneeth Hettiarachchi
FoC Media 2018

Sponsorship & Enquiries:
Web Page: www.festivalofcricket.org
Email: info@festivalofcricket.org

Stay tuned for updates:
Facebook: @festivalofcricket | Twitter: @foc_uk | Instagram: @cricketfestival
Newslanka Ltd is not responsible for any content in hyperlinks. Copyright © 2018 Newslanka Ltd. All rights reserved. Please see Disclaimer