Welcome to Newslanka.Net
Sri Lankan news from the UK & Europe & news from Sri Lanka
Search our site, type in a name of an OBA, Association or a friend




April 19, 2017
Annual General Meeting of the Past Pupils Association of Visakha Vidyalaya 2017
By Dr Chitra Mannakkara

The annual general meeting of the Past Pupils Association of Visakha Vidyalaya (PPAV) was held on Sunday 29th March 2017 at the Mandarin Palace restaurant in Gants Hill.

The meeting was attended by committee Members and several general members including a founder member of PPAV Shahareen Hilmy.

The secretary of the association Yamuna Tennakoon presented a detailed account of the events of last year and the treasurer Mithra Gajraj presented the accounts.

The outgoing president Dayani Senarath thanked the committee for their dedication and support in achieving a successful year. She also thanked the members of the association, friends and family for their ongoing support for our efforts to support the school and the bursary scheme.

Following the president's speech the new committee for the year 2017-2018 was appointed.

Dr.Harshi Boralessa who is also a founder member gracefully accepted the appointment as president for the coming year. In her speech she highlighted the significance of this very important year for Visakhians as we celebrate the Visakha Centenary. She outlined the plans to celebrate this event with an exhibition at London Buddhist Vihara on the Founderís day and a Grand Visakha Ball in October.

She and the committee warmly welcomed three new committee members to the committee for this year, Mrs. Subodhini Clarke, Dr. Indira Ekanayake and Mrs. Nelka Gunawardena.

The meeting ended with a speech by PPAV Patron Mrs. Lakshmi De Zoysa.

Lakshmi reminded us of the values and aims of the association which are based on the principles instilled by the school in all of us. She discussed the aims of the PPAV in supporting the school and selected charities and also highlighted the added benefits of promoting friendship and camaraderie among members while engaging in these activities.

The meeting was followed by a Chinese meal which was enjoyed by all including our husbands and family who joined us on this day which also happened to be Mothers Day.

During the meal we were entertained with Sri Lankan Thabla and organ music by the Maestro Gamini Abeywardene and Sri Lankan melodies sung by our very own 'Adele', Mala Polpitiye.

The meeting ended with a sing-song which was enjoyed by all.

Committee 2017/2018
President: Dr Harshi Boralessa
Vice President: Mrs Sepalika De Alwis
Joint Secretaries: Mrs Mala Polpitiye & Mrs Yamuna Tennakoon
Joint Scholarship Coordinators: Dr Poora Nagasinghe & Mrs Sreemathie Weeraman
Joint Treasurers: Mrs Mithra Gajraj & Mrs Ranji Vimalathas
Joint Event coordinators: Dr Chitra Mannakkara & Dr Kanthi Raveendran
Joint Editors: Mrs Chandani Rekers & Mrs Indramala Dhanaratne

Committee: Mrs Dayani Gunasekera, Mrs Ranjani Abayawardana, Mrs Mahal Ratnasiri, Mrs Kamala Samarajeeva, Ms Chithra Perera, Mrs Priethie Jayawardhana, Ms Niranjani Fernando, Dr Padmani De Silva, Dr Jeevani Jayawardena, Dr Dulcie Wijekoon, Mrs Chithrani Pathekirikorale, Mrs Subodhini Clarke, Dr Indira Ekanayake, Mrs Nelka Gunawardena.
Newslanka Ltd is not responsible for any content in hyperlinks. Copyright © 2018 Newslanka Ltd. All rights reserved. Please see Disclaimer